WAIT WHAT

There’s a movie of Midnight’s Children and that’s happening right now and I never knew?

DID YOU KNOW ABOUT THIS AND DIDN’T TELL ME! I swear to God, bloggy friends. Did you know about this and didn’t tell me? What did I do to you to make you neglect me this way? Was it that time I vanished for the whole summer? Cause…well, no, that’s very fair if so.

Salman Rushdie is not my favorite author (very few of his lady characters are interesting), although I like him a lot, and Midnight’s Children is not my favorite of his books, although I liked it a lot, but I am pretty excited about this movie. Salman Rushdie helped work on the script, and it’s an all-Indian cast, and it screened at the Toronto Film Festival and I have heard good things. Hooray! I’m excited!

Also, Iran tried to stop the film from getting made. Because of course.

Also, I’m posting this during the span of A More Diverse Universe and that is apt because Salman Rushdie writes fantasy novels (magic realism just has to accept itself for what it is), and he is an author of color. I did this on purpose and not at all because I just noticed this movie existed today.

Also, I went to the dentist recently and I don’t have any cavities. That’s unrelated to Salman Rushdie. I just wanted you to know.

18 thoughts on “WAIT WHAT

  1. I swear that I did not know, and I am just finding out now!!! I need to see this! This was my favorite of his books, and I can’t believe that nobody mentioned it! Also, good job with the dental hygiene, there Jenny!

  2. Do you follow Salman Rushdie on Twitter? ‘Cause he’s been talking about it, like, FOREVER. I’m really looking forward to it too. I like when authors are allowed to be involved with the making of films from their own books.

    • I don’t, I’m not on Twitter as much as I once was. Plus sometimes Salman Rushdie says annoying things, and I don’t necessarily want to know all of his thoughts.

    • She wasn’t that involved! She didn’t write the scripts or anything. It’s not her fault, it’s the movie adapters! In [insert quantity] years, the movies will expire and someone will do them up right in a super-awesome TV miniseries.

  3. I failed in my first attempt to read Midnights Children. I blame the yellow old very tiny print paperback I have. I did not know about a movie.
    Did you know Life of Pi will soon be a movie? And The Great Gatsby? And Anna Karenina?

    • Indeed? The paperback with the bad print sounds discouraging. Have you ever read anything else by Rushdie? The Ground Beneath Her Feet is not universally beloved, but it’s my favorite of his. It’s the only one that has a female lead character that’s interesting.

      I did know those things! I am excited about two of them. i suspect Life of Pi is going to be bad. You heard it here first.

  4. I wanted to blog about it but I was too busy!! I am excited about Life of Pi too although I forgot what the book was all about now… I haven’t visited my dentist for 2 years (I know disgusting!) I suspect I may be developing new cavities!!

  5. So happy about the dentists! A trip with no cavities is definitely worth a mention, although dentists have now developed this tool of torture with which to clean my teeth but actually feels as if it is shooting about a million volts through each sensitive nerve. You cannot win with dentists. Umm, I knew about the film but didn’t know you wanted to know. I promise on each and every one of my fillings that I would have told you if I did. 🙂

  6. Jenny, you crack me up! I’ve missed your posts. Btw, besides Midnight’s Children, at the TIFF they also showed On the Road, Cloud Atlas, Anna Karenina, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

  7. I heard about it from one of my book club friends who kept telling me that the movie was coming out. I am sure you know this – ‘The Great Gatsby’ movie version is also coming out and so are ‘On the Road’ and ‘Cloud Atlas’.

Leave a Reply

