It’s too hard to say au revoir, so let’s just say hors d’oeuvres

Lovely people, I am bowing at last to the inevitable and going on an Official Blogging Hiatus. I have not been a reliable blogger for ages, pretty much since I moved to New York, and I’ve realized that — for the time being at least — the idea of blogging makes me tired and stressed, instead of excited and energized as in days of yore. I feel guilty when I skive off blogging to do fun New York things, and I feel guilty when I skive off social outings to do blogging. So I’m taking a break for the summer, and around Labor Day I will reassess.

In the meantime, I have not stopped loving the wondrous blogging community. Y’all are never not wonderful, and I have been so lucky to discover all your blogs and meet some of you in person, and if you are ever in New York I hope you will look me up. I’ll still be lurking around your blogs and rambling on about whatever you’re posting, and scribbling down the titles and authors of books you’re enjoying so that I can get them the next time I’m at the library. I started blogging to get people to tell me what to read, and I cannot give that side of it up, because I will always always need people to tell me what to read.

One thing before I go: Jenny from Stone Soup Books (who has awesome taste in books, btw, being that her taste is very similar to mine) has coined the term “Jenny’s Law” to refer to the thing I always say about how Diana Wynne Jones is better on a reread. Let’s keep that going, shall we, people? I love having a law named after me. And Diana Wynne Jones is better on a reread. The law is a true law.

Kisses!

80 thoughts on “It’s too hard to say au revoir, so let’s just say hors d’oeuvres

  1. I will miss your more posts and will cross my fingers that the Labor day reassessment will bring you a way to make blogging fun and energizing, instead of stressed. I believe *strongly* that blogging should be fun and not stressful, so if it’s stressing you out, a break seems like a good idea.

    And I hope lurking includes comments once in a while. Please? We need our Other Jenny comments!

  2. Really hoping this is a temporary hiatus … you’ll be missed! A lot. Really. I’m not joking. Wait, Jenny … don’t go! πŸ˜‰

    • *hug* You are awesome. I hope it is a temporary hiatus too — I love blogging! I’m hoping that when New York summer ends and New York autumn comes on, I will find my blogging muse once more. :p

  3. I really do hope you come back Jenny!!! I’d miss you so much. I really do understand needing a break though. I went on hiatus earlier this year too and it was the best thing I could’ve done…for much the same reason as you. Since I’ve come back I’ve been much less stressed. I’m blogging with the attitude now that I’ll blog when I can and when I want to about what I want to. And honestly, I’m enjoying it more than ever…even if I only do get a post a month up sometimes. *hugs* Enjoy your summer!

    • Thank you! This is such a good comment for me to read — it’s nice to hear the perspective of someone who’s come out the other side. πŸ˜€ You have an awesome summer too!

    • And in case I haven’t said it enough, so many congratulations on everything wonderful that’s happening in your life. Your posts sound really happy, and I’m happy for you. *hug*

  4. Addendum to Jenny’s Law (or is a corollary?)…blogging breaks are good things.
    Or maybe that’s Softdrink’s Words of Wisdom #.5. Because I’ve made use of it many times, and it is also true.
    Enjoy your summer!

  5. I’m glad I had the chance to meet you in NYC last week–it’s definitely a city that can distract you from blogging 😊. Have a great summer, and hope to see you back here after Labor Day!

    • It definitely is! Especially during the summer with all the free things. πŸ˜€ It was lovely meeting you too, and I hope you have a wonderful summer.

  6. Here’s hoping that when you reassess, you find you missed us so much and come running back! A break can be good, and we will all welcome you back when you’re ready.

    • Thanks, Amy! I have done so many fun NY things in the past week I am sort of fun-NY-ed out and looking forward to a slightly quieter week this week. :p

  7. I guess this means I should reread some Dianna Wynne Jones? I loved her a child, but haven’t picked up one of her books in ages. I hope you decide to come back to blogging at some point, but agree that it is best left for a while if it is not fun any more. Good luck!

    • Oh you should always reread some Diana Wynne Jones. I hope you enjoy it if you do! I recommend Fire and Hemlock in spite of the confusing ending. Thanks for the good wishes, Jackie!

  8. We’ll miss you very very much, but like everyone else said blogging shouldn’t be stressful. It sounds like a break is the best thing for you right now. Have a great summer, and fingers crossed that in September you’ll feel energised and motivated again!

  9. I’ve taken a long break before when the blogging was dragging me down – and it does sometimes, the pleasure and interest come in waves. But I’ll miss you very much – you reliably make me chortle with glee. Hope you have a wonderful summer and feel able to return refreshed in the autumn.

    • Yeah, I’m hoping I’m just on the down part of the wave, and it does make sense to take a summer break, given how insanely many things are happening in NYC during the summer. I’m hoping to be back in the fall!

  10. I’ll miss you too. But like everyone else here is saying, breaks are good. If you find you miss it, you will give me something to look forward to around Labor Day, which is usually a stressful, no-fun time of year in my neck of the woods.

    • Aw. What happens at Labor Day? Cause school’s starting up again? (I don’t have a good sense of regular school calendars, my school always started in mid-August.)

      • School starting up means lots of extra work for me in terms of organizing and teaching my student workers, lots of extra work for Ron because everybody wants something from IT at the last moment before classes start, and lots of miles getting Eleanor and all her stuff to Iowa.

  11. I get it, and like everyone says breaks are a good thing. Have fun over the summer and I look forward to reading your posts if you choose to return!

  12. OMG, nooooooooooooooooooo! Okay fine. Proposed Law #2: Jenny Tagging. No one does it better than you! (although Book Club Care is making a good start at putting the Law into effect!) We’ll miss you!!!

    Tag: gaaah all the most creative bloggers need breaks! but why can’t Mumsy take over for a while? Isn’t that what mumsies do?

    • Hahahahaha, I like proposed law number two AND I love the idea of Mumsy taking over for a while. Would that I could convince her to do so! If we were a blogging team in the manner of Teresa and Proper Jenny from Shelf Love, then it wouldn’t matter that I was in a total blogging slump.

  13. Don’t go Other Jenny! Ack, how will I know what to read next?! I hope you’ll return soon with a lovely long list of good books! and enjoy your time in NY!

    • I don’t know that I will have a lovely long list of good books! My great fear is that quitting blogging will leave me with NOTHING TO READ even though of course I will be reading everyone’s blogs just as usual. It would be awful to have nothing to read so please remember to post tons of posts about everything good you are reading or have ever read.

    • Thank you! It will probably be sort of a small amount of pictures — my camera is a Polaroid (not actually Polaroid brand, but Polaroid theory), so each picture is like. Seventy-five cents. I have to be super choosy about what merits a photograph. :p

  14. I will miss you too Jenny! But I agree with everyone else – blogging needs to be fun. Enjoy your “real” life and we’ll be here when you return. πŸ™‚

  15. It is absolutly true that hors d’oeuvres is easier to say–I just tried a few times.

    I hope you have a nice break, and that it is a break, not a forever!

  16. Aww I will miss you, but everyone is right, blogging should be fun and when it isn’t it’s not worth it. That’s why I cut down and said ‘Ok if you get two posts up a week, that’s great’ and then failed at two posts a week so had to have another chat with myself about how it’s fine not to post. Hope when you reassess you decide to come back, even if it’s just once a month, but no pressure at all. Havea lovely summer and hope your weather is better than ours.

    • Even knowing that it’s fine not to post, I still feel guilty. That’s why I’ve done an official stopping blogging post here, but am still lurking around commenting on other people’s reviews. It’s the best way of feeling I’ve cut the cord while nevertheless deriving all the benefits of blogging. πŸ˜€ You have a good summer too!

    • *laughs* That’s a wonderful law, although honestly I haven’t read much to rave over so far this year. Hopefully that’ll change as the year goes on. I’ll miss you too!

  17. Oh man, Teresa warned me in advance and this post still made me sniffle. Don’t go all the way away, Other Jenny! I think I will think of you as being temporarily in another dimension, like on Doctor Who, where there is commenting but no blogging. STRANGE BUT REAL, I don’t know everything there is in the universe. And we will eventually rescue you. Relax this summer! Enjoy yourself!

    • *cracks up* Okay, that is a very reasonable way to think of me! Indeed I am trapped in that dimension! It is a very strange dimension but curiously liberating. πŸ˜›

  18. Ah, the internets are a little less joyful without you posting, but there is no point in doing it if it’s no longer fun. I’ll miss you, but hope you have a wonderful time in your other world which you call ‘the United States’, and of course I’m secretly hoping you’ll decide to return.

    Also, at first I thought you were going on an Official Blogging Hibiscus, which maybe you should consider doing as well, it sounds quite pleasant.

    • Consider me on an Official Blogging Hibiscus. I will now be substituting “Hibiscus” for “Hiatus” in every possible conversational moment because frankly it is a better word.

  19. There is NO REASON why you shouldn’t be able to do fun New York things and if blogging (or not blogging) is interfering with that then you should deffo take a break. I will miss you! But I totally understand. ♥

  20. I’m with Jill on Proposed Jenny Law #2. I feel we should all get fun and creative in our tagging while you are away πŸ™‚

    I will miss you, obvs. But I shall miss gallivanting around NYC with you even more this summer. Enjoy your time πŸ™‚

  21. This makes me so sad, but after spending a week in New York I understand that it is a city that demands your full attention and is not very good at sharing. Enjoy every moment of your New York Summer.

    Also, I am reading my very first Diana Wynne Jones for book club next month and am so excited to finally understand what all the fuss is about.

    See you around the interwebz!

  22. Sackcloth! Ashes!

    (But I’m taking you at your word, I hope you know, so they’re only rented.)

    May you have a wonderful summer of playing in the city and books read with joyous abandon!

  23. I can’t believe I haven’t commented on this post yet. Good grief, Kim! Obviously, I am sad you are hiatusing, since I always love reading your reviews. But like Teresa said above, blogging should be fun and not stressful, so obviously you should do what you need to do and be busy in NYC and have fun. I hope you will decide to come back though πŸ™‚

  24. Hope you do make a grand return come fall! I plan on attempting it, too. I miss blogging and the connections with other bloggers and readers, but grad school is too much of a black hole at the moment to sustain anything aside from grad school. Here’s to you enjoying your NY summer!

  25. That happens to me sometimes. The stress of trying to maintain my blog and post regularly will cause me to forget that this is supposed to be fun. Though taking a break usually help and I’ve always come back, so far. So I hope you will too πŸ˜‰ Enjoy doing fun New York stuff.

  26. I just came back from a several week long hiatus myself because I was moving. Have a wonderful summer – maybe we’ll run into each other in the comments section of a blog somewhere. I hope you will be able to come back to blogging when it’s stress-free to do so. I love your posts.

  27. Jenny, I will miss you, but I hope taking a break will give you peace of mind. Blogging really can be rather stressful at times. Take care *hug*

  28. I am telling myself that Labour Day will bring you back. :p

    In the meantime, having essentially just gone on a two month blogging break myself, I say go enjoy it! I certainly feel more rejuvenated.

  29. I will miss reading your posts tremendously, but I completely understand. Go have all sorts of New York-ish fun, read many amazing and wonderful books, relax, and eat hors d’oeuvres πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  30. I just got back from a break, and sometimes it’s just a necessary reality. I so look forward to your return, and I will be wishing for lots of joy for you while you are away. Summer in New York sounds like a blast, and I may be heading up your way sometime in the future, so who knows, you may be able to get me into Diana Wynne Jones in person one day! Have fun, my friend!

  31. Hey Jenny, it’s taken me almost a month to come respond to this post simply because I’ve been crying into my computer monitor. 😦 Your blog is THE reason I began mine. I lurked around the interwebs, browsing your page for months before I had the nerve to dive in. Now..my poor little page is collecting dust and you can practically hear the crickets chirping, but yet I always loved getting my notification that you had a new post up. I truly hope you’ll return to the blogosphere – when you’re ready, of course. Real life is such a bitch, isn’t it? Takes up all that time & stuff:) And, if you happen to be on Facebook, and would like to connect there…I’d sure love it. Feel free to look me up – Jessica Kenney Hall. Take care, my friend!!

  32. Howdy, thanks for commenting. I’m returning the favor, though I know you are *on break* which is good and fine. But I bet it is still fun to see nice comments and not strange spammy ones every so often. PS tell your Mum that I enjoyed her goodreads thoughts on Outlander. I am trying to write a review of it and the more I think about the book, the less I am enamoured.

  33. Obviously I have not been a good blogger either, because I am just seeing this post now! I feel awful about that. I hope that you are enjoying your hiatus and that you come back after Labor Day feeling refreshed and ready to blog again. We’ll always be here when you return.

  34. I’m quite late to the party here, but I really hope that you’re enjoying your hiatus. I really should have done something similar myself, my site is falling behind woefully! All the best πŸ™‚ And hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

