Leaving on a jet plane

My darlings, I am off on a vacation this week. I shall see two of my oldest and most awesome friends, go shopping for spring clothes at thrift stores, inspect an apparently very wonderful used bookstore, and watch Angel with my clever friend tim. I will miss you, and I continue to love you, but I won’t be around this next week so I will probably miss some awesome posts by you. Please stop by and tell me what I’m missing, so I can catch up on things when I return.

Meanwhile, I am trying to learn about magic and folk remedies and like that. I basically want a whole bunch of books exactly like The Golden Bough. I want reputable sources, not New Age crap, and by preference I’d like to have some non-Western stuff. Any thoughts? Pretty please? Failing that, I’d love to know some good books on comparative mythology.

23 thoughts on “Leaving on a jet plane

  1. If you’re just interested in an herbal, Penelope Ody did a nice one for DK called The Complete Medicinal Herbal, which appears to be out of print, but can be purchased new/used from second party sellers on Amazon. I love that book and have used it a lot for research. John B. Lust’s The Herb Book is also pretty good and low on the New Age stuff.

  2. You might enjoy Malinowsi’s Magic, Science, and Religion–old, but interesting, in much the same was as The Golden Bough, although further along the road in the developement of cultural anthropolgoy as a discipline.

  3. No book recommendations from me, because I am just not that savvy, but I hope you have a most awesome trip, Bill and Ted style, and that you enjoy being with your friends. See you when you get back!

  4. Have a wonderful, wonderful vacation! Alas I know nothing about comparative mythology but can look forward to instruction from your good self about that when you get back.

  5. I’m afraid most of the books I know are about western magic, but… Anything by Ronald Hutton comes highly recommended. I know you said you weren’t interested in the ‘New Age’ stuff, but although he writes a bit about contemporary paganism and magic, he’s a historian of folk religion/tradition by trade. The Triumph of the Moon and The Stations of the Sun: A History of the Ritual Year in Britain are both very good and full of fascinating things.

    From a history geek point of view, I really enjoyed Religion and the Decline of Magic: Popular Beliefs in Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century England by Keith Thomas. From an anthropology perspective, I remember finding Marcel Mauss’ book on magic really interesting, and have read some things by Susan Greenwood as well.

    I hope you have a lovely holiday!

  6. What about Aleister Crowley? He was a creepster, but I think he wrote several books – if memory serves me, he was completely convinced of the scientific nature of what he was doing., and I want to say he combined elements from various theoretical frameworks. Not so much folk remedies as trying to control the universe. *sigh* (I think I could diagnose him, but I will control myself.)

  7. How about ‘The White Goddess’ by Robert Graves? It’s not really much about magic as such, but more about folklore and pre-historic rituals in matriarchal societies.

  8. Not quite what you asked for, but . . . there are some interesting rituals and ceremonies in Stations of the Sun: A History of the Ritual Year in Britain. You might give it a look-see.

Leave a Reply

