Challenges and a request for advice

As you have probably all heard, the R(eaders) I(mbibing) P(eril) Challenge has returned! September and October are the months for the blogosphere to be reading books that are spooky and mythic. I have made up a tentative list of books for myself, and I shall pick the best ones to read this month and next month.

On Jellicoe Road, Melina Marchetta
Tooth and Claw, Jo Walton
The Magicians and Mrs. Quent, Galen Beckett
Here Lies Arthur, Philip Reeve (does this count? I can’t decide)
Affinity, Sarah Waters
Blue is for Nightmares, Laurie Faria Stolarz
The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon
…and others as they occur to me

My personal challenge for the month of September is to be spoiler-free all month. I will be reading books in the right order. I will not be looking up what happens in films and TV shows on Wikipedia while I am watching them. So far this is going okay. It is much like reading in the wrong order, except that it sucks slightly more. But I’m hoping that as the month progresses, I will find virtues in this style of reading.

And now, a request for advice. I have unpierced ears, and I have always been perfectly happy with this state of affairs. My main reason for leaving my ears unpierced is that earrings would just be one more thing to worry about in the morning, one more thing to store on my dresser, one more thing to box up and transfer from place to place when I move. I am grossed out when I behold people taking out and putting in earrings. I have heard many horror stories about ear-piercings and do not want them to happen to me.

BUT.

I was at an arts event the other day and I saw the most beautiful earrings I have ever seen in all my life. They were made out of old watch parts, and they dangled in a fetching, steampunk-aesthetic sort of way. I covet them.

Please advise. Those of you without pierced ears, how come? Those of you with, did you have similar fears to mine and find them unfounded? Or find them very founded indeed? Is it worth it to have one pair of earrings that I love, when I am mainly unmoved by earrings? Would I, once pierced, find myself in love with other earrings although I have never felt this way before? Help help help.

72 thoughts on “Challenges and a request for advice

  1. Yay for the challenge! I love reading people’s book reviews during this time of the month. One of these days I’ll get around to joining.

    As for piercings, man I love me some piercings. My ears are (only) pierced twice. I was way too young to remember my first piercing (baby-ish?) but got the second hole in middle school or some years later. I’ll let you in on a secret. I’ve never had a problem. Granted the first six weeks are a pain while they heal, but other than that, nope. Second secret, my second piercings…I keep this pair of earrings in so I don’t have to ever worry being ear-naked. I sleep in them, shower in them…dang, I can’t even think of the last time I took them out. My other holes are for stylish earrings. I say GO FOR IT. And feel free to e-mail me if you have questions about any other facial piercings. LOL.

    • I like nose rings actually, but if I’m nearly too chicken for ear piercings, I know I’d be miles too chicken for any other facial piercings. Nice to hear from someone who never had a problem! 😀

  2. I didn’t have pierced ears ’til sophomore year of college – I felt the same way you did, that pierced ears were unnecessary, that putting earrings in and taking them out was gross, that I just did not get the appeal. But then I changed my mind and, you know, it was fine. I got them pierced at a Claire’s at the mall (ha) and found cute star-shaped studs that I would be happy wearing for the requisite 4-6 weeks, and I was diligent about rotating the earrings and cleaning my earlobes, and I didn’t have any gross or painful experiences. At the moment I am in a sort of minimalist phase, and I do feel like earrings are one more thing to store/move/etc. but they’re small, and honestly I don’t have *that* many pairs. Also, once your ears are pierced and healed, it’s not like you have to wear earrings every day – lately I’ve been wearing them when I feel like it/once every few months, because I don’t want the holes to close. I think it’s totally fine to just have one pair of earrings that you love!

    • Yeah, I’d probably go to Claire’s because it’s the only place I know to go, even though being there would make me feel like an old lady. :p I think if I had one earring rack of earrings that would be more than enough. I’m just afraid my acquisitive-pack-rat side would kick in if I had pierced ears. :p

  3. I saw the Galen Beckett book somewhere else and really like the look of it, do want to read it now. Shadow of the Wind is suitably creepy for the challenge!

    I put off getting my ears pierced for years – my dad, who was a jeweller, did the ears of every girl in our town except me, I think! But it means that, sadly, I don’t have any earrings made by him. I did have a bit of trouble when finally I got them done, they got infected despite my being really careful, and I finally took the sleepers out and let them heal. I tried again about a year later and the same thing happened, so feeling really embarrassed I went to the doctor, who was really cool about it and I had a rather lengthy course of antibiotics in the cause of vanity. But, oh, I love my earrings now, and I make new pairs when I get bored with the current collection. I can’t sleep in them, though. I’d say go for it, those steampunk earrings sound stunning!

    • I wouldn’t sleep in them probably. I sleep on my back most of the time, so I don’t think it would be a problem, but I have a hard enough time sleeping without tossing little metal lumps into the mix. :p

  4. While a part of me wanted to have my ears pierced for varying reasons in the course of my more than three decades of existence (haha), I still haven’t taken the plunge. I don’t know. Like you I am moved by beautiful earrings, mostly dangling, mostly intricate in design, and a handful of them screams “That’s so me!” but in the end, after thinking things through, it’s more of a want and not a need. I don’t need to have my ears pierced to be me. I hope that helps.

    • That’s how I’ve mostly felt. Having my little sister’s example before me has been a deterrent, even though she loves having earrings. She has at least a hundred pairs, and that feels daunting to me.

    • There are. Especially now that there is a big arts market every so often in town, and there are all these jewelry-makers with beautiful earrings for sale. It’s tempting.

  5. My college roomie said exactly the same thing about earrings, even the grossness part.

    I, on the other hand, have had pierced ears since I was 2. I also have 4 more holes in the left ear. I can’t sleep with any of the earrings in, though, so every morning it’s in with the earrings.

    Something for you to consider…you will not be able to wear those dangly earrings until 4-6 weeks after you have your ears pierced. So if you at all think the wait and healing process will cure you of your desire to wear other earrings, don’t do it. And, how heavy are the earrings you covet? Because as long as I’ve worn earrings, I still can’t stand the heavy ones! I don’t like to feel anything hanging from my ears, so if there is weight to the earrings, it’s a no go.

    • Yeah, I know about the wait. But it would be nice to know that at the end of the month/month and a half, I’d have some beautiful earrings waiting for me. The earrings don’t look heavy at all; they are made of very light metal watch parts, and they aren’t that long anyway.

  6. If you choose Tooth and Claw and The Magician of Mrs. Quent, I’ll definitely be interested to read your thoughts on them. I haven’t read them yet.

    I had my ears pierced when I was thirteen. I followed instructions, but even months after piercing, I had troubles with them, more troubles than was normal – gunk, and bleeding, and pain. I tried the hypoallergenic earrings, but it didn’t seem to help. Eventually I let them close up. That’s not a cautionary tale, really, as of course there are plenty of people who successfully wear pretty earrings and I admire others’ earrings. If you decide to go for it, I think that you would find other earrings that you would like.

    • I will definitely be reading Tooth and Claw. I’m finishing up Walton’s Small Change trilogy and loving it, so I know I want more!

      Hm. I am usually not prone to infections, but it would be most unpleasant if I got one. I’m not stoic about pain. :p

  7. I absolutely loved On Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I haven’t read Affinity but Sarah Waters usually keeps things interesting.

    I had my ears pierced since I was 6 years old and I never had a problem … I have a thing for gypsy earrings, it’s something more to experiment with and If you don’t feel comfortable you can stop wearing them and that’s ok

    • On Jellicoe Road was really good. I’m glad I read it, even though it turns out not to really fit with this challenge.

      Gypsy earrings, like huge dangly ones? Those are the kind I’m a bit nervous of. I have a very snuffly puppy and I don’t want her to rip an earring off by mistake.

  8. As someone who’s had her ears pierced several times, I have to tell you that yes, you will find other earrings to fall in love with too! I love earrings and though my ears are pierced, I don’t wear them. I’m constantly losing my earrings or forget to put them on! Let us know if you decide to get your ears pierced. Take pictures too! Hee hee hee!

  9. I do love to read everyone’s choices for the R.I.P. Challenge. I really enjoyed Affinity (and the adaptation for TV when I watched it a couple of years later); for me it was a mix of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood with The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.

    I had my ears pierced at a relatively young age but I always found wearing them too uncomfortable; my lobes would feel heavy and itch with or without earrings being worn. Even years and years later the holes have never closed and although I often see dangly earrings that look nice, they never appeal enough that I would wear them. Besides, I don’t think my face shape suits earrings and I compensate by having lots and lots of other jewellery.

    • There’s a TV adaptation? I had no idea! I enjoyed the ones of Fingersmith and Tipping the Velvet, so yay. That’ll be something to look forward to as well.

      I wear hardly any other jewelry (one necklace all the time), so I think for me it would make sense to do earrings. I wouldn’t fiddle with them all the time, and they’d be pretty.

      • Yes, I think it aired in the UK around January ’09. Watching it I realised that area in London one of the main protagonists lives in is same one I do now; when I read the book previously I had no idea where it was let alone that I would be living there one day!

  10. I’m staying obstinately challenge-free still, but RIP is one that would draw me back into the challenge world. I am planning to reread The Woman in White this month, and I have a couple of Stephen Kings at the top of my TBR pile, so I’ll be RIP-ing in spirit. (It’s the making a list and linking back that feels like work to me, so I’m not officially signing up.)

    As for the pierced ears, I had my ears pierced when I was 8, but I eventually let them grow back together, only to get them pierced again when I was 13. I haven’t had any problems with mine, but I don’t consider earrings a necessity. Back in the 80s, when I got pierced, long dangly earrings were a major fashion necessity, which is why I got mine pierced. Now they are, and I do like having the opportunity to wear earrings. I have a couple of simple pairs that I wear most of the time, and maybe a half-dozen fancier pairs when I’m feeling splashy. If you did get your ears pierced, you may find more that you like, only because you’d probably be looking at them more often.

    • Aw, The Woman in White! Have fun with that. 🙂

      Was the repiercing bad? A lot of the awful stories I’ve heard have to do with repiercing grown-together holes–because of the scar tissue.

      • The repiercing wasn’t bad. IIRC, one was more painful than the other, and I had more struggles getting earrings into that ear at first, but I’m not sure it was because of the repiercing. (And the problems didn’t last, mostly because I mastered the trick of pulling my earlobe down first, as Memory suggests.)

        And FWIW, I have terrible needle fear, but the thing they use to piece ears–at least when I got mine done–isn’t needle-like at all. I don’t even associate pierced ears with needles.

  11. I can’t wait to read all the creepy books — if you’re interested to join The Historian Read Along, let me know!

    I actually got my ears pierced about a few days or weeks after I was born — I can’t remember what my mother told me about when they were pierced. I absolutely love having earrings and I usually just have a standard go to pair that I pop in really quickly and then have the fabulous ones for special occasions. What I think I like best about them is that I love wearing a sweatshirt and jeans — if I don’t wear earrings, I feel kinda blah, but if I do have earrings on, it just helps make me look a little more put together, you know?

    • Hm, I will think about it. I’m not sure I’m in a Dracula place this year. :p

      I do know what you mean. I’ve recently started wearing makeup on a regular basis, and it’s not that it makes me look so different really, but yeah, I feel more put-together when I have it on. Nice to know earrings are the same.

  12. First, I think Here Lies Arthur counts.

    Second, I got my ears pierced when I was 13. I love earrings, but I never got more than one hole in each ear. It was a huge fad when I was a teenager to get a bunch of holes. Even my grandmother is double-pierced, and she didn’t get single-pierced until after I got earrings. I didn’t have any fears, but I would advise wearing the earrings they use to pierce with for the recommended period of time. I know people who take them out, and their ears close up. Avoid earrings with nickel. Tends to cause infections. Take care of them while you have those “trainer” earrings in, too. When I got mine pierced they gave me something to put on them. You will see other earrings you love. Most likely you haven’t before because you weren’t interested in earrings, but if you start looking, you’ll find more you like. I like to wear dangly Celtic knots, myself.

    • Good! I will count it then.

      I am definitely going to avoid nickel. A friend of mine turned out to have a wicked awful nickel allergy. And yeah, I’m hoping once I think earrings are for me, I will find a lot more that I like. Historically I have always been looking at earrings with my little sister in mind, and she likes cute things. I want earrings that are quite simple, or else earrings that are delicate and elegant. Not cute so much.

    • I am constantly looking up TV shows on Wikipedia. It is one of my most common uses of Wikipedia. I don’t like suspense, and I do like knowing which characters I should avoid getting attached to because they are doomed to die/secretly evil. Not being able to find out what happens is less awesome.

  13. Oh, and also good luck with the spoiler free thing. I hate how people have to ruin the experience for others, but I’m like you: I usually do it to myself. I have been trying to do that with the Hunger Games books, but I was reading Goodreads last night, and carefully didn’t look at any reviews that contained spoilers. People are usually good about checking that box. Then I saw one with a major spoiler in all caps in the first line, and I was really angry, but mostly at myself for looking. I should have known better.

    • Cheers! I am a big spoilers girl, and spoiled Mockingjay for myself about two seconds after it came out (in August, so it’s okay). I’m curious how this experiment will turn out.

  14. First, Blue is for Nightmares = WIN. I loved it. Nothing life changing, but so fun.

    Second, I have two holes in each ear. I got the first ones when I was like 5 or 6 years old, so I don’t remember much about it. I got the second set when I turned 18. My experience has not been a good one. Growing up, I couldn’t use cheap earrings. All my earrings had to have posts made of 14+ carot gold or the special acrylic/nylon, because they would get infected otherwise. I have scarring from the piercings that have never gone away and periodically get infected even now, leaving little smelly lumps in my earlobes. When I got second holes, they were a pain to take care of and I always had to be careful not to stick the earring through one hole and through the back of the other, thus tearing the inside. After four years, the holes never got any bigger and I could never use any earrings except the ones I was pierced with. I don’t know if that was a quality of the people I went to or the fact that it’s younger to grow around earrings as a child. I don’t know. But either way, by the time I was about 22 or 23, I quit wearing earrings altogether. Between infections, scarring, and painful un-healing, I decided it wasn’t worth it. I love earrings and think they’re really beautiful (plus I use to mix-and-match and wear my earring in one ear and my sister’s in the other, for example), but I haven’t worn any in 8 or 9 years now. I’m pretty sure the second holes have closed up, and sadly I doubt the ones I got when I was five ever will.

    • I’m excited about Stolarz after reading your reviews of the series. They are always checked out at the library (greedy young adults!), but I’m placing holds.

      See? Yours is exactly the kind of story that makes me so nervous! Maybe I had better wait to get pierced until I have insurance again. :p

    • I will! A lot of these are books I’ve been meaning to place holds on at the library, and haven’t remembered to, so the challenge is my way of making myself do it! 🙂

  15. I have to warn you, The Magicians and Mrs. Quent is nowhere near as good as it sounds like it should be.

    I’d say go for it with the pierced ears. Mine have never given me any trouble at all, and earrings are a lot of fun. It’s easy enough to have a neutral pair on hand for days you don’t feel like choosing.

    • I’ve heard that from several people about The Magicians and Mrs. Quent. My expectations are suitably low, so I won’t be disappointed if it’s no good.

      Thanks for the advice! Can I ask, when did you get yours pierced?

      • As best I remember, I was around 15 or 16–old enough to remember it.

        It’s super easy to slip earrings in and out. I could probably go quite a while without wearing earrings and not worry about them healing over, but I enjoy them, so I’ve never gone more than a few days at a time without, and that’s rare.

  16. I have never had pierced ears (or pierced anything). My reason is a little bizarre: My mother pierced her ears when she was a teenager, and the piercing triggered a metal allergy. She can’t have any metal touching her skin or she’ll break into a rash. When I was a kid I had planned on getting my ears pierced as soon as I was old enough (parents said 16), but then I took biology in high school and learned all about genetics. That changed my mind. I’ve always been a big necklace wearer (I feel naked without one) and I used to wear a lot of rings, so when it hit me that I might have inherited the same allergy I changed my mind. Sometimes I wish I had my ears pierced (especially when I see really cool earrings, so I know how you feel). I’m still earring-free, though, and that’s probably how I’ll stay.

    Good luck making your decision!

    • Whoa. That is crazy. I hardly wear any jewelry, apart from a saint’s-medal necklace that I’m never without. Earrings would be rather a change for me, and the pair I saw on Saturday was the first pair that has ever made me consider piercing this seriously. Arrrrgh, I can’t decide!

  17. I like your list! Or, at least, both Tooth and Claw and The Magicians & Mrs. Quent are excellent, and while I didn’t much care for The Shadow of the Wind, I think I’m probably the only person on the planet who feels that way, so you’re probably safe there as well.

    As for pierced ears, I got mine done when I was pretty young (9ish), didn’t have any problems, and I’m glad I have them, but I have never been tempted to go back and get second holes, or cartilage piercings, or any other part of my body pierced. Do you think the grossed-out-by-earrings thing might go away when you don’t actually have to see it, since it’s your own ears – like putting in contacts?

    Another alternative might be ear cuffs – they’re a lot more comfortable than clip-ons, and a quick google for “steampunk ear cuff” turned up this cute piece:
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/53080980/golden-mechanics-of-falling-stars-artful

    • I am hoping that yes, the ick factor will fade when I do it every day. I’ve had contact lenses since I was nine, and I can barely remember a time when messing with them grossed me out. Fingers crossed.

      • That’s what I was thinking; I’m the same way… watching other people mess with their contacts still grosses me out, but popping mine in and out doesn’t even make me blink. (Heh, that was terrible, sorry.)

  18. Horray for R.I.P, and good luck with your personal no-spoilers challenge!

    I didn’t get my ears pierced until I was eight years old, since I thought it was going to be incredibly painful and messy and just generally not worth it… but it was virtually painless, in the end, and there was no blood or ichor. My earlobes felt kind of hot, and they were a wee bit read at first, but that was about it.

    Changing my earring was very, very difficult at first, since a) I had the same issue as you re: not liking to watch the earing go in or come out and b) the family friend who taught me how to switch my earrings did it completely wrong. It took me many, many years to figure out how to do it properly. (Squeamish description coming up: it’s all a matter of stretching your lobe out a bit so you can stick the hook/ring/peg straight through. The family friend taught me put it in the front and feel around at the back of the ear until I got it out. This was very painful and sick-making, and I don’t recommend it). It also took me a little while to figure out that my earlobes didn’t like studs. I now wear only hooks or rings, and I often leave the latter in for as long as a year at time. Rings are the way to go, if you want no-fuss ear-wear.

    Once I got the hang of having earings (which took about six or seven years), I decided I wanted to get MORE HOLES! So I toddled off to this piercer I knew, and she informed me that I don’t have enough space for them, on account of my earlobes are ridiculously tiny. This is one of the great sadnesses of my young life.

    (And I feel like I always leave you this long, epic comments. I’m sorry! You shouldn’t ask such interesting questions).

    • Thank you! My no-spoilers challenge IS AWFUL. I can’t believe people read like this on purpose. Or watch TV shows–I’m on the third season of Veronica Mars, and I’d really prefer to find out what happens. But I can’t. Because of my self-imposed rule. Hrmph.

      Wow, I didn’t know there was a right and wrong way to do it. That description squiffs me out, but perhaps I will not mind when it’s my own ears–you know, like you can pull out your own splinters with no problem, but when someone else does it, it’s gross.

      Poor you! Poor you with no more piercings! My earlobes are spacious but I don’t want more than one hole–life is so unfair.

  19. As a holdout who has never pierced her ears (but has been given pierced earrings as presents anyway, including several times by the same person — has this happened to you too?), I say do whatever you want!

    I’m not a jewelry person except for a couple of rings, so I never wanted to get my ears pierced just because everyone else had theirs. And I feel a camaraderie for other women without pierced ears. But I think if I suddenly wanted to pierce my ears, I would go for it.

    • I was given a pair of pierced earrings by a boss once, but that’s it. If someone important to me had given me a pair of pierced earrings, I’d probably have pierced my ears to avoid hurting their feelings. :p

      I’m not a jewelry person either, which is one of my major concerns. I play with rings and necklaces and bracelets compulsively if I have them on, so I rarely wear them. But I’m thinking (hoping) earrings would be different.

  20. I love your list because I haven’t heard of some of the books on it! I can’t wait for reviews. (And again, good luck with the spoiler-free month!)

    And I didn’t get my ears pierced until a few years ago (in my late 20s, I think, or possibly even at 30). I was a tomboy when I was younger and then I didn’t want the hassle but finally wanted to try it out and gave in. I still only wear studs of various colors and shapes and sizes. Putting on dangly earrings after never having had them for years and years just looks and feels wrong. I suppose if I found the perfect pair, I would try them anyway but I just haven’t yet. Earrings are a hassle for the first few months but now I kind of come and go with them. I’ll wear them every day for a few weeks and then nothing for a couple months. I don’t ever regret getting my ears pierced though.

    • Thanks! Spoiler-free month is not pleasing me so far, but I’m hoping these are just withdrawal symptoms before I come to enjoy it.

      It’s good to hear from someone who didn’t pierce in their childhood/teenage years. I think I’d do dangly earrings now and then, but mostly stick to studs for everyday wear. I am lazy that way.

  21. I had my ears pierced, and it was fine, but when my baby was born, I sort of forgot a lot to put earrings in, and then feared he yank them if I did and so the holes closed. I don’t think clip earrings are so awful to wear if you get the kind with a small screw at the back that you can adjust so that they don’t put too much pressure on your ear (I’d dearly like to do a drawing here only I cannot). If you know who makes the jewellery you like, you can get the earrings converted – I do this regularly for my mother-in-law who likes earrings but doesn’t have piercings. The nice lady on the stall in the market alters the earrings for me. Then you can see whether you like the whole earring thing and want to take it further.

    Good luck with your decision, and with the challenge!

    • I haaaate clip earrings. I have a few pairs and I can’t stand them, even the ones with the small screws. After about twenty minutes I have to rip them off my ears and complain loudly about them. My thing is that I’d like to have the option to wear pretty earrings, and be able to wear rather dull ones the rest of the time.

  22. I have two piercings on each ear – I got the first two at 12, the second two at sixteen, and at this point I can no longer remember what my reasoning was 😛 But I’ve never regretted having them; most of the time they’re just.. there. I’ve become lazy about earrings, so I mostly wear the same all the time (four very small matching silver rings). Sometimes I think of looking for cool earrings (and those steampunky ones you describe sound wonderful), but like you said, it’s just one more thing to worry about. Not a very helpful comment, I know 😛

    Here Lies Arthur is definitely very dark, so I’d say it counts.

    • I wish I could get a feeling for how much I’m going to have to worry about it. I am afraid people will give me a thousand pairs of earrings and I’ll have to find someplace to store them.

      Okay. I am slightly nervous about Here Lies Arthur because I have twice tried and failed with Philip Reeves’s Mortal Engines trilogy. But I trust you!

  23. I got my ears pierced when I was a child. It’s a religious ritual in our religion. However, I am allergic to anything other than gold, and so end up wearing the same pair of blah gold studs all the time.

    If it was left to me, I would never get my ears (or anything) pierced, I am a bit paranoid about needles.

    All the best with whatever you decide 🙂

    • I am very paranoid about needles, but I thought maybe if I had earrings it would help me get over it a bit. I wouldn’t mind wearing the same earrings most of the time (that would make life simple), as long as I had some pretty ones for special occasions.

  24. I don’t know any of your books but I love that title: Blue is for nightmare.

    I didn’t realize there are so many thrilling books out there. This challenge is a good way to add my referance.

    My book list includes Manga 🙂

  25. I absolutely love Affinity; it’s such an atmospheric novel. Having said that, it’s not the Sarah Waters that I most often recommend but it is still my personal favourite: I hope you find yourself swept away by it.

  26. I got my ears pierced when I was 16 (the minimum age imposed by my parents) and it didn’t hurt, wasn’t a big deal, and I’ve never regretted it. I’m the kind of person who can hardly stand it when my clothes touch me–I rip or sometimes now carefully cut labels out of the back of shirts–so I don’t sleep in earrings. I take them out at night and put some new ones in each morning, mostly small studs. When I get any new earrings, I rinse them in rubbing alcohol before I put them in my ears. I’ve never had an infection or any kind of trouble with the piercings (one in each ear) and my daughter, who had hers pierced at 13, has never had any trouble either.

    I’ll be interested in your reactions to Jellicoe Road and The Shadow of the Wind. Both good books, I thought, but very interestingly told.

    • Rinsing them in alcohol is a good idea! And probably not something I would have thought of on my own. I’m wondering if it would have been smarter to pierce them in my teenage years, as the pattern seems to be fewer problems at a younger age.

      I thought Jellicoe Road was very interesting–finished it the other day–but not quite what I had expected.

  27. The Magicians & Mrs. Quent wasn’t bad but not really scary; at least I didn’t think so but feel free not to listen to me. 🙂 Tooth and Claw is on my list too.

    I got my ears pierced a long time ago and never had any problems. I have several holes in each ear but I only where earring in the first anymore. Somethings seem like such a good idea when you’re younger…

    • Oh, yeah, it doesn’t sound scary. I figured I could count it for this challenge because it’s got nineteenth-century streetlights and a fantasy element. :p

      Well, I’d definitely stop with just one hole in each ear. More than that seems to be tempting fate (for me).

  28. I’m interested to see what you think about Affinity.

    As for the ear piercing… I had mine first pierced when I was 5, so I’ve generally always had them. I got second holes sophomore year of high school, one on the middle outside of my left ear freshman year of college, and two on the upper cartilage of my right ear later that year. I feel as though I’m biased, but I am totally pleased with these piercings. I won’t be getting any more, but I’ve loved having them. I generally just keep plain diamond (or fake diamond as it were) studs in all of them at all times unless I want to match some earrings with a certain outfit. I would say go for it. You can always let them close up if you don’t like them or any trouble they cause. As for horror stories, I think getting infections in the lobe is a bit less common than with cartilage especially if you keep it clean like they tell you to. I’ve never had a problem with any of mine. Good luck!

    • I’m interested too. Surely I will love it, given how much I love Sarah Waters.

      I actually really like the way the upper cartilage earrings look, but I’m too scared of the Pain to try it myself. As far as cleaning, I am very conscientious, good at following instructions, and enthusiastic with antibiotic cream.

  29. Nice reading list, Jenny! I have read only ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Rafon from your list. I loved it when I read it. Hope you enjoy reading it too. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

    I am late on commenting on the main topic of your post 🙂 Logically, I shouldn’t be, because I am a guy and I also don’t have my ears pierced. But still I am sticking my neck out and saying what I think 🙂 I think you should get the earrings if you like them so much. Maybe you might forget about them after a few days, but if you don’t get them you will be thinking about them all the time. Atleast this is what I would do, if I didn’t get something that I liked so much. On the other hand, piercing your ears is a major thing which you have to think about. If you don’t want to pierce your ears, I think you should stay that way. Who said that one has to wear earrings that one buys? 🙂

  30. Pingback: RIP V and Other News « The Alcove

Leave a Reply

