31 thoughts on “Good omens

    • *laughs* Consider it a travel tip for the Northern bits of the country. Go to the North and say “y’all” to oldish food people, and free food will happen. 🙂

  1. Ooh, I love baklava! I’d never heard of the stuff until we lived next to some people from Turkey and the lady handmade it and shared on holidays. It was heaven!

    • My Arabic teacher made our class baklava a few times, which has given me unreasonably high expectations for baklava. It’s got so many nice ingredients inside it!

  2. Hilarious! People do that to me when I’m in the US. ‘Oh, you’re from England? In that case…’ works a charm.

    I love a good Southern accent. On a man. Makes me weak at the knees!

    • I suppose it’s just the whole be-nice-to-out-of-towners thing. When I discover people are visiting Louisiana from somewhere else, I try to be extra nice to them so they won’t feel all displaced and homesick. So I guess the free baklava is similar to that.

      Really? Like Matthew McConaughey?

  3. Happy almost all-moved-in-ness! We can commiserate about no air conditioning this summer. It’s the best, actually. You get to brag about your stoicism to all the air conditioned wusses while *seeming* to be talking about the weather. Total small-talk one upmanship.

    I would give you baklava to say y’all, too!

    I have never been anywhere my accent was cute. Oh, right there IS nowhere an American west-coast accent is is cute. I can do some hick I-de-ho, but that is most definitely not cute.

    • I don’t have much of an accent really (as people constantly tell me when they find out where I’m from), but I do play it up a little bit when I’m out of my normal habitat. And I don’t need baklava as an incentive for saying y’all. I say it all the time for free! :p

  4. It’s true. Even rough, tough dudes from the Bronx melt like butter in the sun after a little sweet-talking. My Southern accent is genuine now (genuine transplanted-New-Yorker-in-Louisiana-for-30-years), but I always amp it up, even in the city I grew up in.

    • You don’t have a Southern accent! Do you think you do? Cause you talk about like I do, and apart from the “y’all” thing or me, yes, amping it up, people are always saying I don’t have an accent.

      • Other people think I do. It’s more my vocabulary and phrasing than anything, I think: “Scootch over”, “I’ve BEEN doing that,” “He was all over me like white on rice.”

    • Yeah, actually, I think I’d probably give free stuff to someone who said they were from out of town. Just because, you know, I want to be welcoming and hospitable and represent my own home as being welcoming and hospitable.

  5. no fair! I have not once gotten free food for a yall! I get looks, I get people laughing and going “you said yall,” and I get teachers telling me to be careful when I say yall because its unprofessional, but not once have I gotten baklava! Or any free food! The only free food I’ve gotten since coming up here was from a man whose brother graduated from my school, and who thought it a terrible shame I had never tasted italian ice

    I want baklava for a yall!

  6. California accents are underappreciated and have never gotten free food (as far as I’m aware). When I sometimes slip up and my small-town burr shows up though… well, that does get me freebies now and then.

    • I think that many accents are underappreciated. If only someone would make me the arbiter of who got free food! (Well, no, that wouldn’t work, I’d suggest free food to everyone.)

  7. We just got that same Aw look in the States when we said we were from Canada. ‘Aw, look at those cute Canadians.’ Unfortunately, we got nothing free for it. Enjoy your free food!

    • If I had met you, and you had said you were Canadian, I would have told you I knew your national anthem, and then I would have sung it, and then if I had had food to give, I’d’ve given you food. Truuuue paaaaatriot loooooove in all thy sons command!

    • Yeah, I am thinking I need to play it up. I only sound Southern in certain moments, but I am poor and free food is glorious, and I feel I could really benefit by broadening my accent. :p

  8. That is so funny! I’ve never had that happen before, but I have gotten strange looks in restaurants from servers. (Like the Middle Eastern man working at Kentucky Fried Chicken in London – he and I had a terrible time communicating. And yes, I ate KFC in London, but in my defense we were at the airport on our way home and it was the cheapest thing available. The food didn’t even taste like KFC to me.)

    Nice that you got to enjoy some yummy Baklava though. I wonder how many times you can play the accent card for free food there? 🙂

    • Oh, I do not judge you at all. When I lived in London for a month in 2005, I used to go to McDonald’s many mornings after visiting the bookstore that was near me. Because I wanted ice cream for breakfast, which I think is far more worthy of censure than simply eating at fast food places when abroad.

      • Ah, ice cream for breakfast! That reminds me of college. 🙂 We had a soft-serve machine in the dorm cafeteria, so I completely understand.

    • I’ll say “fixing to” pretty inevitably at some point. But I’ll try and combine them: “Y’all fixing to close? Looks like I got here just in time!”

Leave a Reply

