Love

Go watch “The Waters of Mars” and then come back here so we can have spoiler-filled comments about all how bleak and scary and crazy it all was, and how excited we all are that John Simm is coming back again.  (I am very very excited.  I would even go so far as to say very very very excited.  I love me some John Simm.)

You may think that you have seen David Tennant put on some crazy eyes previously, but in fact you have never seen David Tennant do crazy eyes until you have seen “The Waters of Mars”.  I recommend you get on that as soon as possible.  Russell Davies does his best work when he’s not afraid to get dark with it (see also Midnight).  Although the premise of humans exploring space nobly, causing the Doctor to want to hug them and bury them in a cairn of compliments has been done before on this show, it’s never been done this well.  The monsters are scary and the Doctor is – well, he’s the Doctor, as he gets when there’s nobody around to stop him.

On my scaryometer, I would rate this probably on a level with “Silence in the Library“, which is to say, a bit less scary than “The Empty Child“, less scary than “Midnight” by a comfortable margin, and nearly half as scary as “Blink“, Scariest Single Episode of TV Ever™.

David Tennant, presently my favorite actor of all the actors, is starring in an NBC pilot about a lawyer with anxiety problems.  As anxiety problems of various kinds hold synchronized swimming competitions in my family’s gene pool, I am pleased about this whole idea.  IF they can write a therapist that’s any good, which is something I’ve noticed films and TV shows struggle to do.  Is it because all screenwriters have crappy therapists themselves?  Is it because they need the therapists to be idiots in order to allow the characters to carry on being dysfunctional?  Is it because the media hates social workers?  I DO NOT KNOW, but I yearn for David Tennant to come make his crazy eyes on American network television.

Plus, this.  My mum introduced us to Shakespeare with the films of Twelfth Night and Much Ado About Nothing; and that seems to have worked, because I love Shakespeare like I love my family, and I have renewed my long-abandoned Shakespeare reading project.  Previously I have disliked Hamlet A LOT, but I feel like, come December of this year, all that could change.

15 thoughts on “Love

  1. I stayed up far too late last night watching The Waters of Mars. Oh man. Bleak and very worrying. I’m never sure the concept of fixed points in time makes a lot of sense, but still. Eek.

    If you want to love Shakespeare, and particularly Hamlet, I recommend the Canadian TV series Slings & Arrows.

    • I loved it that he said it was just a theory – he’d insisted on it so firmly to all his companions in the past, and I thought it was so interesting that he was admitting that the laws of time to which he’s always so firmly adhered may not be exactly right.

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll see if I can get it from my library. Wasn’t Rachel McAdams in that? I feel like I have heard of it…

      • I thought that by saying it was just a theory, he was trying to avoid a full explanation of who he was and how he knew about it. I loved that whole speech, ending with “As consolation.” David Tennant is so incredibly effective when he tones down the ADD a little. I wonder if the fixed point thing is something that the Doctor is intellectually aware of but everyone else is emotionally aware of. So that the Doctor knows he shouldn’t break the laws of Time, but he can do it if he decides to, while everyone else acts instinctively to keep the laws intact. Hence the captain’s split-second decision at the end – the Doctor is helping her out by being super-scary, but she doesn’t really have to think things out because she knows instinctively what she has to do.

        The first season of Slings & Arrows does have Rachel McAdams, and she’s great. They do a different play each season – Hamlet, then Macbeth, then Lear. On the subject of TV therapists, there’s a therapist character in the third season whom I absolutely love. He has one of the most reassuring voices I’ve ever heard.

      • I thought since he was explaining everything anyway, to a woman who was about to die, he was being unusually honest with her about his ideas and the laws of time. I may have to watch it again to decide one way or the other.

    • My sister and I were talking about whether he was hallucinating the Ood. The other thing that occurs to me is the Ood might be coming through from another dimension, because it appeared and disappeared just like Rose did that time. Though I don’t know what that portends!

      • I think the Ood are going to be very significant in the last story (unless of course that’s just a red herring in the trailer). I think if the fixed point in time thing is real and not just a theory then he may have caused some sort of rift or wobble or something, and that’s how the Ood came through. But I like the hallucination idea – guilty conscience perhaps?

      • I am actually in love with the hallucination idea. My sister finds the Doctor a very comforting figure and does not want to have him be crazy. I think it would be interesting – exactly, a guilty conscience. He’s clearly got one, bless him.

  2. I’ve just spent far too long reading through your reviews of books I’ve read, and a couple I haven’t (and not for the first time – I’m an occasional lurker); so I thought I’d leave a note this time to say how much I enjoy them.

    I am fully in agreement with you on many things, not least the awesomeness of reading, sisters, Diana Wynne Jones, Neil Gaiman, The Ordinary Princess, and Dr Who.

    I’d like to read your opinion of Jasper Fforde – if you haven’t read him yet, may I humbly sumbit him for your perusal, and suggest that if The Eyre Affair underwhelms slightly you do not let that stop you from following it up with Lost In A Good Book, which is where he really hits his stride.

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by. And hooray, another person who’s read The Ordinary Princess!! I’ve never read Jasper Fforde – someone read The Eyre Affair and told me it wasn’t worked out well, and I’ve just never bothered to try it. But okay, I will read them both and see. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about him!

  3. I am still laughing over David Tennant and his crazy eyes. This is so true. And the synchronised swimming of the anxiety genes. I inherited a double dose from my parents and so anxiety is right up there with food, drink and sleep in my daily preoccupations. You are so right that all TV therapists are rubbish. This is, I think, because a) in TV-speak they are shorthand for stunted, insufficient people, like accountants and clowns, and b) because TV writers quite possibly need therapists badly but have never actually visited them for fear of destroying their edgy, tense creativity. Hence the imperative to portray them as useless. Well, I’m running with that theory at the moment.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s noticed this TV therapist thing! I wish they would stop – mental illness is already stigmatized enough without TV making everyone think that it won’t do any good to see a therapist. I think it’s all of a piece with TV’s insistence on portraying all social workers as heartless bastards. Especially child protection workers, which I think is very strange. On the other hand, I’ve heard enough real-life horror stories to know that there are a lot of fantastically useless therapists out there.

  4. The comfort thing is interesting; in all the years I’ve watched Dr Who (from end of Patrick Troughton to halfway through Colin Baker as well as new Who) I’ve always thought he had the potetnial to be crazy and actually a bit sinister and that’s what made him so cool.

    • I agree, but I think she means comforting morally. As crazy and sinister as he can be (which I think makes it fun), he’s always doing his best to be good and do the right thing. (Except that time someone did something wicked to Colin Baker, which made him mean, and he didn’t like his companion anymore – I feel like that happened one time and can’t remember why.)

Leave a Reply

