Y’all, I appreciate you

BBAW_Celebrate_Books

And today, in light of its being the massive book blog love-fest week, and today being the day where we all say thanks for particular books, here are some that I’d never have read if it weren’t for various people (see below):

Thanks to an adventure in reading for Douglas Coupland – particularly Eleanor Rigby.

And to Nymeth for Patrick Ness and Bayou.  I know went on and on about how scary Bayou was (and I was not exaggerating, that book was scary as hell), but it was also gorgeous and amazing.

And oh, also, A Life in Books – thanks for liking Sarah Waters; I was all, shoot, if this lady likes The Ghost of Opalina, I assuredly will trust her about this Sarah Waters character.  Totally the right thing to do because Sarah Waters is fantastic.

And many others of course, but these are some authors I am particularly pleased with this year.  Hooray!

11 thoughts on “Y’all, I appreciate you

    • I totally get it. 🙂 I really should stop checking books out of the library and just read some of those Coupland books I have around – I meant to do that very thing, but then the RIP Challenge started and everything just went to hell…

  1. You’re quite welcome and so happy I made a fan of Sarah Waters! Now we just need to turn the book blogging world onto the wonderfulness that is Ghost of Opalina … I wish so much that that book would come back in print!

    • Me toooooooo! Every time I read about a publishing company that enjoys putting old books back in print, I get so hopeful – and it never happens. At first I thought there’d be no use putting it back in print without the illustrations, but now I’d be happy with anything.

    • Fingersmith is probably her best book. I liked Night Watch a LOT, but it was a little uneven towards the end; whereas Fingersmith is fascinating all the way through. I hope you do get to read her soon! She’s so wonderful!

    • Right? Eek! Those pages where she is running to get out of the bayou after Lily vanishes are like something out of my nightmares. I’m shuddering just thinking about them.

  2. I am looking forward to reading the new book by Sarah Waters. I have high hope of her although I wasn’t extremely thrilled about The Night Watch, which I read last year.

    • I don’t mean to be a downer here, but I thought her new book was her weakest (though I haven’t read Affinity yet). It was still very good! But I liked The Night Watch better. Still read it though – I’ll look forward to hearing what you think!

Leave a Reply

