Okay okay okay okay

I cannot hold out any longer!  I know I was going to do the rereading thing, and not get any new books out of the library, but I cannot maintain in the face of everyone on my blogroll going on and on about the thousands of amazing spooky books they are thinking of reading, and having the pretty picture of the girl, and putting up covers of beautiful books all the time.  I AM ONLY HUMAN.

rip4banner

Eee, I’m excited.  I can totally read four spooky books by the end of October!  (she said optimistically)

Definitely I am going to read Her Fearful Symmetry.  I am extremely excited about Her Fearful Symmetry.  And then here are the others I am considering which I have culled from my own reading list and also from the lists of the rest of the everyone that is playing.

The Girl in a Swing, Richard Adams – I want to read this anyway because yes, it is that Richard Adams, author of Watership Down, the most badass story about rabbits anyone is ever going to write.  Apparently a young psychic porcelain dealer falls in love with a German woman, and at first they’re all with the smoochy love, and then he gradually begins to realize that Something Is Not Right.  I love stories where people realize that Something Is Not Right, and Richard Adams is, as we already know, a legend.

The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher, Kate Summerscale – When I read the words “true crime” I make a face and back away a few paces.  But this, my friends, is Victorian true crime.  Catnip to Jenny.

The Seance, John Harwood – A ruined mansion in Britain; a packet of papers that might reveal a mystery; seances; candles – need I go on?

Alias Grace, Margaret Atwood – Okay, part of me is just using this challenge as an excuse to read Alias Grace although I said I wasn’t going to read it right now.  But I really really want to read it!  It’s a fictionalization of a true story about an accused murderess in Victorian times.  I mean it’s Victorian times, and I’ve just read one of Margaret Atwood’s tales and am itching to read another.

The Magicians, Lev Grossman – I don’t know if this is dark enough to count.  But it’s essentially about how some kids obsessed with what’s obviously Narnia (only they fictionalize that and call it Fillory) get to go to a magic school and learn magic and important life lessons.  And I think there’s a lot of darkness up in there too.  We shall see.

Let the Right One In, John Ajvide Lindqvist – About the spoooky little vampiiiiiires.  I hear about it everywhere!  I need to read it at last!

The Ask and the Answer, Patrick Ness – I WANT TO READ THIS SO MUCH OMIGOD.

The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins – Just because everyone else is reading it, and it’s been years since I have.  So I think the time is right for a good sound rereading.  And I might read The Moonstone too.   The Moonstone always makes me smile.

The Ghost Orchid, Carol Goodman – A writer goes to an artists’ retreat in a spooky Victorian mansion.  The mansion, it’s spooky and Victorian, and I think there’s some parallel storylines and such madness.  If I haven’t made it clear yet, I am ALL ABOUT spooky Victorian mansions.

The Unseen, Alexandra Sokoloff – Amazon called it a “serviceable thriller” – damned with faint praise if ever anything was, but I am still adding it to my list, because it’s about psychology professors going to check out a haunted house.  The last book I read along these same lines was amazing.

I’m Looking Through You, Jennifer Finney Boylan – a memoir about a transgendered woman growing up in a haunted house.  I think gender studies are fascinating, I love memoirs (sort of!  I have a tortured love-hate relationship with memoirs!), and I love haunted house stories!  It’s a match made in heaven.

Now that I’ve been totally peer-pressured into this, I am rather excited about it.

23 thoughts on “Okay okay okay okay

  1. Eek, I love Watership Down, but I never thought to try and read anything else of his! I’ll have to find The Girl in a Swing and try it out.

    The Unseen sounds vaguely like “Rose Red,” one of my favorite miniseries and the only Stephen King TV adaptation I can watch. 😉 I’ll look out for your review of it.

    Good luck with the challenge! You can do it! *cheerleader mode ON*

    • I’ve thought about reading other of Richard Adams’s books, but I have always been afraid that I would feel let down. Watership Down is so amazing and I feel like it would be hard for another book to live up to it. But The Girl in the Swing has finally come to look too appealing for me to leave it alone.

  2. After you read Mr Whicher, you’ll def. want to pick up a Wilkie Collins, because it is compared and referenced all the way through it. I love a book that makes me want to read another great book.

    Glad to see you succumbed to the pressure of the RIP!

    • Oh yeah!! I completely forgot that in addition to being all Victorian mystery, it’s also much with the Wilkie Collins references. Goody, goody, goody – I love it when books talk to each other that way!

  3. Thank you for your bold admission of human frailty! 😉 I’m so glad you chose not to resist. After all, why resist a genre of reading that is so tremendously fun?

    An absolutely wonderful group of spooky books you have to choose from. I too cannot wait to get lost in Her Fearful Symmetry!

    • My list is still a work in progress. I wrote down all the ones I could think of right then, but I figure, if I get a fever and the only cure is more RIP challenge, I can always add more.

  4. yay, I’m so glad you caved! I’m Looking Through You sounds awesome, as does the Richard Adams. And I hadn’t heard of either before, so thanks! I’m dying to read Let the Right One In…stupid book buying ban 😦 And Alias Grace has the perfect atmosphere for this challenge. I hope you love it 😀

    • I was going to say, if I read it and it’s wonderful, I’ll send you a copy! But then I remembered that your book-buying ban includes getting new books from anywhere (lunacy!). I’m excited about all my books although participating in this challenge does totally mean abandoning my no new library books rule. (Oh well.)

    • Yes! Add it! We can compare notes. I’ve been meaning to read it and putting it off for a really long time – I think it would motivate me to read it if someone else were reading it too. 🙂

  5. How funny, I was waiting till later today (Monday) to post my declaration for this challenge! How can I resist spooky books? And since I have none currently in my TBR stack, I guess I’ll just have to go to the library …

    • I went to the library last night and got most of my books – the library very thoughtlessly didn’t have two of them in that day, and I forgot to get a third. But there’s still time. Looking forward to seeing your reading list!

  6. I can’t wait to hear your review of The Girl in a Swing. I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never read Watership Down, but after your glowing recommendation of it being the “most badass story about rabbits anyone is ever going to write”, well, really….how can I resist that!???

    • Oh you totally need to read it. It’s sort of hard to convince people to read a book about a psychic rabbit no matter how legendary I claim that it is. So good. The rabbits are tough and fierce and amazing. You should hit it up. So tense and suspenseful!

Leave a Reply

