Darkmans, Nicola Barker

Mm.  I should know better than this.  When I read a review that says “to suggest that this dazzling, complex novel has anything quite as conventional as a plot would be misleading”, I should know that it just isn’t the book for me.  It just isn’t.  It just can’t be.  I need a plot.  I read books for the plots, and that is why I read.  And I do not tend to like books that mess with paragraphs and punctuation – I know that this is edgy but it always ends up feeling choppy and affected to me.  In this case, choppy and affected and tedious after the first few pages.  What is wrong with normal punctuation, I should like to know?

Unfortunately, I had jury duty day before yesterday, and I was stuck with reading it because although we were waiting in a library (thank you, kindly courts), I didn’t want to get up to look for another book, because I didn’t want anyone to take my seat.  So I did stuff for work until my laptop battery died, and then I worked on some work on paper, and then when I had run out of things I could do without a laptop, I read this book.  Up to page 366.  I didn’t like it that much.  Up with normal punctuation!  Hurrah for punctuation!

2 thoughts on “Darkmans, Nicola Barker

  1. And I almost brought another book to jury duty, as well. But as I was walking out the door, my purse was so, so heavy, and I thought, well, there’s no chance I’ll finish this entire massive book in one day anyway – so I left it. Next time I’ll know better.

Leave a Reply

