If you like John Bellairs, you may profit from my guilt (scroll down for new posts)

Update: Okay!  I am sending books to mindy, Colleen, Kate, Darby, Anastasia, and Stacie.  I’ve emailed y’all, but leave another comment if you didn’t get my email.

I’ve heard some good things about John Bellairs, but when I tried one of his books once, I didn’t finish it because I wasn’t hugely in love with it.  A little while ago, I found several of his books at the library sale for ten cents.  So I got them.  Why not?  If it turns out I hate them, I thought, they were only ten cents.  No big loss.

Since then I have been eaten up with guilt.  I always fret about these library sales because I’m afraid that they’ll put a book I really, really love on the sale tables, and then someone who DOESN’T EVEN CARE will buy it for ten cents, read it once, and get rid of it.  When I want it so much more!  And now I am that person.  I am the doesn’t even care person who buys books that somebody else might really love.

Anyway, I feel so guilty about this that I’m going to see if anyone wants them who actually likes John Bellairs.  The titles are below.  The books are all hardback, they’re ex-library obviously, so they’ve got card pockets in the back, but they’re in pretty good condition anyway.

Figure in the Shadows
The Doom of the Haunted Opera
(hm, he didn’t finish this one himself)
The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn
The Dark Secret of Weatherend
The Secret of the Underground Room
The Trolley to Yesterday

Leave a comment with your email address and the titles of any of these six books that you want.  I’ll draw names at the end of January.

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “If you like John Bellairs, you may profit from my guilt (scroll down for new posts)

  1. I would love to receive a copy of any of these books; I just recently reread the House with the Clock in the Walls and remembered how much I loved John Bellairs back in the day…

    Thanks for the contest!
    Colleen

  2. Hi there! I’d love a copy of either The Doom of the Haunted Opera or The Secret of the Underground Room – I have all the rest of them 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Aw, I love John Bellairs! He left a lot of his books/series unfinished (because he, er, died), so Brad Strickland has been ghostwriting for him. 😀

    I haven’t read most of the book on the list, actually, so if I win could I have either The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn or The Doom of the Haunted Opera, please?

    Thank you for the great contest!

  4. Pingback: Links for 2009-1-13 « Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog

  5. This is too good to pass up. And generous of you! We have had to make do with checking them out from the library and would really love to have any of them to call our own. Weatherend was one of my favorites.

  6. i would love to read any of them but my first choice is the secret of the underground room thanks for the giveaway minsthins(at)optonline(dot)net

  7. Hello,

    Count me in! Especially desired are The Figure in the Shadows, The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn, and The Dark Secret of Weatherend.

  8. Wow you are so gracious! Thank you! My picks are:
    1. The Dark Secret of Weatherend
    2. Figure in the Shadows
    3. The Secret of the Underground Room
    4. The Trolley to Yesterday
    5. The Doom of the Haunted Opera
    6. The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn
    Whoops, I guess I should of just stated any of them !
    How exciting, I love mysteries!!
    And, stop beating yourself up, at least you are doing something about that which makes you feel guilty!!!!
    Look at what a great giveaway you get to hold! : )
    Darby
    darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s